Our Last Goodbye: An absolutely gripping and emotional World War 2 historical novel
Dickson, Shirley
1786817179

Our Last Goodbye: An absolutely gripping and emotional World War 2 historical novel

1
FORT732721
RB - Romance

'I absolutely loved it!... An emotional, heart-wrenching story of love and loss amidst the horror of war... Will tug at your heartstrings... Will have you reaching for the tissues throughout... Wonderful.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

A heart-wrenching, poignant and totally unforgettable tale of a young woman who must finally face up to the secret she has hidden for a lifetime. A beautiful World War Two novel for fans of Wives of War, Lisa Wingate and Diney Costeloe, that will have you reaching for the Kleenex.

1943, England: On a foggy night during the blackout, twenty-five-year-old May Robinson's mother is tragically killed. Heartbroken, May isn't sure she has the strength to harbour the secret she has kept for so many years - a secret her mother devoted her life to hiding, that would tear their broken family even further apart.

Vowing to make her mother proud, May trains to be a nurse at Edgemoor General hospital in South Shields, against a backdrop of wailing air-raid sirens and the eternal drone of enemy planes. Tending to wounded, ashen-faced soldiers, fighting to save lives, May is immediately drawn to kind-hearted Richard Bentley, who works tirelessly alongside her. He has sparkling brown eyes, and makes her laugh.

In the darkest of days, amongst death and despair, May and Richard are beacons of hope for one another. But why isn't he fighting in the war like thousands of other brave young men?

May knows how she longs to escape her own past, and her mother's. In this perilous time of such uncertainty, she finds herself asking - how well do they really know each other? And when the shocking truth of May's secret comes to light, just as the war comes too close to home, can their love survive the impossible?

Readers are absolutely loving Our Last Goodbye


'What an emotional journey... Had me spellbound... From picking the book up, I didn't want to go anywhere as I was so wrapped up as I was so wrapped up in the era that I had been transported to... A truly emotional read that had me shed tears of happiness and sadness... May's story is one that will certainly pull on the heart strings and I loved every minute of it.' By The Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars

'I'll say no more except Our Last Goodbye by Shirley Dickson is a must-read for everyone. So emotional, a beautiful story.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'What a fantastic book... Loved this beautiful story... Fabulous... Have tissues handy.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'Wonderful... Your heart will just ache... I didn't want to leave.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Free ShippingOn orders $50 or more. North America only.Learn More