Quick Search

Keyword
Title
Author
Seller Id
Advanced Search
 
 

Find us on:

 
Gift Certificate

 
 
Other
       Tell a Friend
Add to Shopping Cart
The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale: 1925-1977, Montale, Eugenio
Stock Image
Author Name:    Montale, Eugenio

Title:   The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale: 1925-1977

Binding:   Hardcover

Book Condition:   New

Publisher:    W. W. Norton & Company 

ISBN Number:   0393080633 / 9780393080636

Seller ID:   ING9780393080636

0393080633 Special order direct from the distributor

More Description

Hailed as one of the key poets of the modern era, Eugenio Montale changed Italian poetry forever and helped to create international Modernism. Steeped in the tradition of Dante, Petrarch, and Leopardi, yet fiercely innovative, in each new book Montale challenged the styles he had previously established. His poems chart an adventure of consciousness and conscience in response to the shocks of modernity, fascism, and two world wars, and they also present several of the greatest erotic sequences in modern poetry.

The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale publishes for the first time in English William Arrowsmith s pellucid translations of Poetic Diary 1971, 1972, and the Poetic Notebook, as well as his previously published translations of four volumes: Cuttlefish Bones, The Occasions, The Storm and Other Things, and Satura. With the wide range of Montale s poetry at last available to the English reader, this collection reveals Montale to be the greatest Italian poet of the twentieth century.



Price = 70.81 CDN
Add to Shopping Cart

cookie